Councilmen Fowler and Barnes, Jr., join non-profit's Board of Directors

KANSAS CITY, Mo.—At a recent meeting of the City Council of Kansas City, Mo., Mayor Sly James confirmed two new appointees to the Board of Directors for Visit KC. Councilmen Lee Barnes, Jr., and Dan Fowler will join the 30-person board for the hospitality and tourism organization, succeeding outgoing Councilwoman Jan Marcason and newly-appointed Mayor Pro Tem Scott Wagner. 

“Councilmen Fowler and Barnes share that Kansas City energy we feel all the way from the Truman Sports Complex to our arts and entrepreneurial communities, and everywhere in between,” Mayor Sly James said. “They will contribute mightily to Visit KC and share that enthusiasm to bring conventions and visitors to enjoy our barbecue, jazz, arts scene and more.”






Representing Kansas City’s 2nd District, Dan Fowler has been involved in public service for more than 25 years, serving several community service programs such as Northland Neighborhoods, Inc., Northland Health Care Access and the Port Authority of Kansas City. Fowler has practiced law in the Kansas City area for more than 30 years and is currently a member of Collins Fowler LLC, specializing in general commercial litigation, general business law and family law. He is a graduate of Kansas State University and the Georgetown University Law Center.






A native of Kansas City, Mo., Lee Barnes, Jr., represents Kansas City’s 5th District at-large. Before his election, Barnes served as the Director of Operations for the Swope Corridor Renaissance/Upper Room, Inc., a non-profit organization. A graduate of Kansas State University, he previously served as an At-Large member of the Kansas City Missouri School District Board of Education, where he was elected to the position of Treasurer.

“I applaud Mayor James’ selections and look forward to working closely with these distinguished gentlemen—as well as the rest of the City Council—as Kansas City continues to position itself as a vibrant, top-of-mind destination for meetings, conventions and leisure travel,” said Brenda Tinnen, Visit KC Board Chair.

The Visit KC Board of Directors is comprised of up to 30 civic and business leaders from the greater Kansas City area. The Mayor of Kansas City, Missouri, with the advice and consent of the City Council, appoints 15 members and the Visit KC Board elects up to 15 members. The Board is chaired by Brenda Tinnen, General Manager/Senior Vice President for AEG-Kansas City Sprint Center, whose two-year term expires in December.


Executive Committee

  • Brenda Tinnen (Chair)General Manager/Senior Vice President, AEG-Kansas City Sprint Center
  • Gayle Holliday, Ph.D. (Vice Chair)President, G & H Consulting, LLC
  • Kevin Pistilli (Treasurer)President, Raphael Hotel Group
  • CiCi Rojas (Secretary)President & CEO, Central Exchange


  • Vic AllredPresident, Jazz: A Louisiana Kitchen
  • Kay Barnes (Ex Officio Board Member); Director/Distinguished Professor for Public Leadership, Park University
  • Lee Barnes, Jr., Councilman, 5th District At-Large, City of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Cindy Circo, Public Affairs Manager, Kansas City Power & Light
  • Mark Donovan, President, Kansas City Chiefs Football Club
  • Dan Fowler, Councilman, 2nd District, City of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Arzelia Gates, Corporate Secretary, Gates Bar-B-Q Corp.
  • Bill George, President, Kansas City Transportation Group
  • Rachel Merlo, Community Manager, Kansas City, Google
  • Bob Kendrick, President, Negro Leagues Baseball Museum
  • Steve Klika, Commissioner, Third District, Johnson County
  • Mike Klingensmith, General Manager, Embassy Suites KCI
  • David Lopez, General Manager, Manny’s Mexican Restaurant
  • Bill Lucas, President, Crown Center
  • Riccardo Lucas, President & CEO, N.STRIDE Consulting, LLC
  • Bradley McCormack, Senior Associate, The Sader Law Firm
  • Oscar McGaskey, Jr. (Ex Officio Board Member); Department of Convention and Entertainment Facilities, City of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Kathy Nelson (Ex Officio Board Member); President & CEO, Kansas City Sports Commission and Foundation
  • Jeanette Prenger, President, ECCO Select Corporation
  • Clayton Reid, President, MMGY Global
  • Rosemary Salerno, General Manager, Zona Rosa Development, LLC
  • Troy Schulte, City Manager, City of Kansas City, Missouri
  • Angie Stanland, Vice President of Associate Services & Recruiting, Cerner Corporation
  • Jon Stephens, President, Rockhill Strategic; Interim Executive Director, Kansas City Kansas Chamber of Commerce
  • Troy A. Stremming (Immediate Past Chair); Executive Vice President of Government Relations & Public Affairs, Pinnacle Entertainment, Inc.
  • Keli Wenzel, President/Managing Partner, O’Neill Marketing & Event Management, Inc.
  • Randy Wisthoff, Executive Director & CEO, Kansas City Zoo
  • Amy Jordan Wooden, President & CEO, AJW Consulting

About Visit KC
Visit KC is a non-profit organization whose mission is to ignite global passion for visiting Kansas City. Through marketing, sales and service of the convention and tourism industries, Visit KC supports a vital and growing component of the local economy—generating more than 45,000 jobs and $4.6 billion in economic impact annually. For more information about the organization or Kansas City, go to

Media Contacts

Derek Klaus
Derek Klaus
Traci Moon
Traci Moon
SVP, Marketing & Communications

For News Media

Members of the media can register to gain access to Visit KC's image and B-roll library

LOGIN Register