Visit KC announces 2023 Board of Directors

Representatives from Made in KC and the Kansas City Current are new appointees for non-profit board; Jeanette Prenger continues as Board Chair

KANSAS CITY, Mo.—Visit KC, Kansas City’s premier hospitality and tourism organization, today announced its 2023 Board of Directors, swearing in new and continuing members at the group’s first meeting of the year.

All four of the organization’s 2022 executive officers will continue in their positions: Jeanette Prenger, Founder & CEO, ECCO Select returns as chair of the organization and will be joined by Randy Wisthoff, Executive Director, Kansas City Zoo Foundation (Vice Chair), Stacey Paine, President, Crown Center Redevelopment Corp (Treasurer), and Brian Johnson, Managing Director of Loews Kansas City Hotel (Secretary).

“Kansas City is on a roll—and we are excited to deliver global events such as the NFL Draft and World Cup, and also to secure more events of this magnitude to help showcase our world-class city, create new jobs, and build our local economy,” said Mayor Lucas. “I am proud of my Visit KC Board appointments and the combined decades of tourism, marketing, and communications experience they will bring to the group. Each of these appointees share my administration’s passion for Kansas City, and our commitment to growing Kansas City equitably; to highlighting all parts of our community for locals and visitors alike; and to thinking creatively about how we can better promote our city and help local businesses flourish.”

“As travelers are venturing out again to near pre-pandemic numbers, Visit KC has positively positioned Kansas City to reap the benefits, said Visit KC President & CEO, Kathy Nelson. “Visit KC serves as a primary catalyst for extraordinary and continuous economic growth in Kansas City’s convention and visitor industry. The team continue to effectively position Kansas City as a vibrant, innovative and creative community. I am confident that the members of the Visit KC Board of Directors are passionate and dedicated in showcasing Kansas City as a major player in the tourism, convention, and hospitality industry.”

The organization’s Board of Directors is comprised of up to 36 civic and business leaders from the greater Kansas City area. The Mayor of Kansas City appoints half of its members and the Visit KC Board appoints the other half.

Appointees made by Mayor Lucas include:

     Dara Alvarado, Firm Associate, Lathrop GPM

     Keith Bradley, Co-owner, Made in KC

     Will Gregory, President, Gregory PR

     Breana Grosz, General Manager, Country Club Plaza

     DePrice Taylor, Executive Director, Community Relations, Kansas City Current


Nominated by the Board of Directors, Derek McCann, Managing Director, KC Marriott Downtown also joins the Board as a new member.

Existing directors re-elected by Visit KC for new terms include:

     Brian Johnson, Managing Director, Loews Kansas City Hotel

     Stacey Paine, President, Crown Center Redevelopment Corp.

     David Lopez, General Manager, Manny’s Mexican Restaurant

     Philip Strnad, General Manager, Hilton President Kansas City


2023 Visit KC Board of Directors


     Chair – Jeanette Prenger, Founder & CEO, ECCO Select Corporation*

     Vice Chair – Randy Wisthoff, Executive Director, Kansas City Zoo Foundation*

     Secretary – Brian Johnson, Managing Director, Loews Kansas City Hotel*

     Treasurer – Stacey Paine, President, Crown Center Redevelopment Corp.*



     Dara Alvarado, Firm Associate, Lathrop GPM

     Keith Bradley, Co-owner, Made in KC (City Manager Designee)

     Mike Cappo, Associate, Shook, Hardy & Bacon, LLP*

     Thalia Cherry, Founder & CEO, Cherry Sports Gear

     Bill Crooks, CEO, Chicken N Pickle

     Will Gregory, President, Gregory PR

     Breana Grosz, GM, Country Club Plaza

     George Guastello, President & CEO, Union Station Kansas City

     Bob Kendrick, President, Negro Leagues Baseball Museum

     David Lopez, General Manager, Manny’s Mexican Restaurant (Re-elected)

     Derek McCann, Managing Director, KC Marriott Downtown

     Adam Miller, Director of Diversity & Inclusion, American Century*

     Kevin O’Neil, Councilman, 1st District, City of Kansas City, Missouri*

     Kris Riddell, Legal Administrator, GM Law PC

     Maria Salcedo, Partner, Shook, Hardy & Bacon, LLP

     Philip Strnad, General Manager, Hilton President Kansas City (Re-elected)

     DePrice Taylor, Executive Director, Community Relations, Kansas City Current

     Lylette Utz, Managing Partner & President, Global Green Solutions, LLC

*Denotes members of Executive Committee


Executive Committee Ex-Officios - 2023

     Cindy Circo, Senior Manager, Evergy (Immediate Past Chair)

     Bill George, CEO, WHC Worldwide / zTrip

     Kevin Pistilli, President, Raphael Hotel Group

     CiCi Rojas, President, Tico Productions & Tico Sports

     Troy Stremming, President & CEO, AdAstra Strategies

     Brenda Tinnen, Visit KC Board Chair, 2014-2015


About Visit KC

Headquartered in Downtown Kansas City, Visit KC is the chief hospitality sales and marketing organization for the region. With a mission of creating global passion for Kansas City, Visit KC collaborates with nearly 1,000 community partners to drive the marketing, sales and service of the destination’s convention and tourism industry—a sector that supports more than 41,000 local jobs. For more information about Kansas City, go to



## KC ##


Media Contacts

Makenzie Wolters
Makenzie Wolters (KC/Regional Media)
Visit KC
Derek Klaus
Derek Klaus (National Media)

For News Media

Members of the media can register to gain access to Visit KC's image and B-roll library

LOGIN Register